Do We Have To Be Extraordinary in Order to Be Amazing?

Hello dear wonderful world and hello dear wonderful friends! Today as I sit surrounded by the successes and the pressures of my day at work and the challenges that still lie ahead…the goals that still somehow remain unachieved… the temptation is to feel impatient…like I should be further ahead…what’s wrong with me…what’s the purpose of my life?…I came here intending to do something EXTRAORDINARY….

….I remember lying on the grass as a child staring up at the beautiful canvas of clouds and proudly proclaiming to the Universe, “I am a force to be reckoned with…! I am alive and I am unstoppable and I am going to do something TRULY AMAZING…!” And then as I grew, I looked around and I saw ALL OF THESE AMAZING PEOPLE….people who had survived life-defying challenges…people who created empires and amassed fortunes…heroes and superstars…even my own relatives seemed to “figure it out” and create lives that others agreed were definitely “successful”….so where did I fit in…? What sort of “great deed” would I do in order to achieve my success, amass millions and win my way into the history book of humanity…? It was staggeringly overwhelming….and so I drifted and wondered…and felt myself begin to doubt and to hide within….

And yet……

…..if we really LOOK at the world, doesn’t it beg to tell a different story…a new and more subtle fairy tale where the word “success” tickles our senses with new meaning….I bask in this beautiful night…exquisite in its moon, its chilling air and its dazzling canvas of stars….the luscious delicate drone of the rain on the roof and the pleasant hum of a car in the distance as it speeds through the puddles and zooms off into the distance…..and it strikes me….this night…so perfect and so glorious…does not demand that it stand out…it dazzles in its own beauty…serene in all that it is…the fact that my lifetime will see thousands of these masterpieces doesn’t diminish the amazingness of this moment….

….So my imagination begins to wander….what if each star could look down upon this planet and catch the brilliance of each of our unique little bits of radiance as individuals? What would they see? Would they scoff at those of us who have not yet earned our millions…or those of us who don’t have the quintessential tale to tale? Or would they stand in blissful awe captivated by the radiance of the most “boring” of us human creatures–mesmerized by the uniqueness and interwoven glory of the lives that we lead?

Let us live our days through the marveling eyes of our ever patiently evolving planet… Today, we don’t have to achieve the impossible in order to excel. Today, let us empower ourselves to explode with joy into each minute of our day….let us “knight” ourselves as the “secret heroes” of our personal Universe…the ones who can impact the most deliciously positive change simply by being human….we ARE the smile that lights up the morning for the stranger on the street…the laugh at the person who cuts us off in traffic when “all fairness” argues that they surely must deserve a glare…we ARE the hug that replenishes our loved ones when the world has beaten them down…we ARE the roar of the crowd that makes the Superbowl come alive…we are the perfect lunch that mom or dad made that somehow made it feel like the absolutely perfect day…we are the person that calls at exactly the right time…we are the champion who reaches the top of that insurmountable mountain…. we ARE the “hole in one”— even if no one else is there to see it….

Yes, we may not all catch the spotlight, but there is nothing ordinary about the level of AMAZING that we can achieve. Today, as you think about yourself, dazzle yourself in the shine of your awesomeness. You are the silent extraordinary ones–and because of you, those stars in the heaven can barely wait until it’s time….time to shine their dazzling eyes down upon you….to see the miracles that you have created in your day…to watch your evolving genius!

So go ahead….stretch out your arms and let out a resounding “Yippee!” Seize the day because YES…you ARE a force to be reckoned with! And the world is OH SO GLAD that you are here….! Dazzle! Bask and revel in the pure unsurpassed amazingness of the wonderful “ordinary” YOU!!!!

2 thoughts on “Do We Have To Be Extraordinary in Order to Be Amazing?

  1. Wonderful post! Sometimes just a simple smile is all that a person needs to get them through their day. I have discovered that random acts of kindness go a long way because most people are willing to do so little. Love this!

Leave a Reply

